From an HGer's Mother

The HER foundation contributed letters from our forums members for a show that featured Hyperemesis as a topic. The show aired in April of 2007.

Moderator: annmarie

From an HGer's Mother

Postby DonnaMoore873 » Feb 28, 2007 12:11 am

Dr. Phil,
As I've started this letter so many times, I've had to write and re-write. There are so many things I want to say that trying to choose the "right" words to convey my heartfelt feelings has become increasingly difficult. My daughter is an HG survivor. First of all, I'm a nurse. I have lots of E.R. experience, and numerous years of other nursing fields. Last year when my daughter and son-in-law told me they were pregnant, we all could not have been happier. By the 7th week of pregnancy Jamie (my daughter) began to get very sick. Yes, I'm guilty. I told her the same as they all have been told. "It's morning sickness, etc." Well, 3 days later when I saw her, I felt ashamed, ridden with guilt and began to "get on my mission" to help her. I knew this was beyond morning sickness. Like all the other women that have gone through this, we were told all the same things in the E.R. I became infuriated. My fellow co-workers in the nursing field were as ignorant about this ugly disease as I was. But, what kept me true to my mission is the one fact that "I know my daughter!!!" I knew how much she wanted this baby. I knew how strong she was and I knew that in order to keep the smile off her face, we had to be dealing with some kind of monster. To truthfully tell you the anguish that goes along with watching someone go through this, it would take days and months. I watched my child, lifeless, depressed, vomiting blood, having to have help getting a bath, having to have help to get to the restroom. Washing her hair was a dreaded nightmare. My daughter and I are very close. There were times when I had to remind her that she would get through this. There were times when during her violent vomiting, I would remind her wha