A few random thoughts

The HER foundation contributed letters from our forums members for a show that featured Hyperemesis as a topic. The show aired in April of 2007.

Moderator: annmarie

A few random thoughts

Postby CaraCaraCara » Feb 26, 2007 8:24 pm

Dr. Phil, Thank you so much for making people aware of HG.

I had HG for 4-5 months with all three of my pregnancies. I felt each one was worse, but that could be because I could sleep more with the first pregnancy.

I would try EVERYTHING imaginable to relieve the nausea, from cinnamon candy to seasickness bracelets, from raspberry tea to vitamin B. NOTHING worked, not even the anti-cancer-nausea drug Zofran. The most I could eat each day was toast in the morning and a can of warm Coke that I nursed all day. I was lucky if I didn't throw that up.

I am a teacher and I would teach as well as I could and then lay on the floor at my desk in my office during my plan period. People thought I was crazy.

I had to be hooked up to the IVs with Zofran, and that didn't help any of the times. Can you imagine... you think that $1500 worth of meds will at least make you feel a bit better, but NO! I'd cry all the way home, get inside and throw it all up.

The only reason I had three children was my supportive husband and the knowledge that the HG ended for me during the second trimester. (I was lucky!) (Each time, I literally woke up one morning feeling back to normal, with my appetite back but 25 pounds lost. One day wanting to DIE, the next day, fine.)

I had the same "evil" thoughts as the others in this forum while suffering the HG, such as, "can't I just lose this baby?" and "what can I do to make this end?" Having those irrational thoughts is scary, and I could never tell anyone for fear that they'd commit me. As soon it was over, it felt like I had survived a terminal illness, but no one understood or cared.

Again, thank you for doing this. I look forward to the show.

Cara from Lincoln, Nebraska.