Hyperemesis and Labyrinthitis

A place to put all your general HG related questions, topics and comments.

Moderators: RebeccaM, justme

Hyperemesis and Labyrinthitis

Postby MamaLily » Aug 15, 2004 4:01 pm

I realize that there probably is no relationship, but I wondered if anyone has ever heard of a link between HG and Labyrinthitis? There probably is no correlation, and I have no medical knowledge, so I just wondered...

The reason I'm asking is because my sister was recently diagnosed with Labyrinthitis, which (from what I understand) is an inflammation within the inner ear. Vertigo (dizziness) is the main symptom, but it can also cause nausea, vomiting, and malaise. Here is an article I found online about labyrinthitis, in case anyone is interested.

http://www.emedicine.com/emerg/topic290.htm

I took my sister to the ER because she was so dizzy and nauseated. As the doctor described Labyrinthitis, I kept thinking about how similar it is to HG! He said that when Labyrinthitis is extreme, the patient has to be hospitalized. Sometimes patients are so sick that they cannot open their eyes or roll over in bed without nausea and vomiting. :idea: This is how I felt when I had HG. I had to lay down in a dark room without any kind of movement or stimulation, because it made the nausea and vomiting worse.

Anyway, after he described the symptoms of Labyrinthitis, he gave my sister some meds: meclizine, steroids, and valium. I was surprised, because meclizine and steroids are basically the two meds I am counting on to work for me the next time I have HG. He said that the meclizine helps fight the dizziness and the steroid reduces the inflammation within the inner ear. And he said that a short dosage of steroids can usually stop the Labyrinthitis.