Which anti-depressant?

Including Post Partum Depression, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder & flashbacks.

Moderators: tgger007, teddi, Schatje

Which anti-depressant?

Postby bibliojo » Oct 19, 2005 10:28 am

So I'm thinking that I should probably go one some anti-depressants for the sake of my poor dh and myself and was wondering what are my options? I'm not pregnant, but I could be at some point while taking them. Which ones are the safest/most effective?

Joanna
2 HG pregnancies
Lukas - February 2003
Katya - October 2006

bibliojo
Forum Moderator

Postby JennyK » Oct 19, 2005 11:42 am

Joanna,

They are all category C. I do not suffer from depression, but I have generalized anxiety disorder, so I take SSRI's for that.

I would say avoid Paxil because it causes withdrawal in newborns. Having gone through Paxil withdrawal hell myself, I could never put a baby through that.

I have been told that the other SSRI's are easier to come off of and don't cause w/d in babies. (I'm no expert, though.)

Now I am on Lexapro because it supposedly has the least side effects. The doctor said not to worry about safety during pregnancy and that he prescribes it to pregnant patients all the time with no ill effect. I do worry anyway (I have an anxiety disorder after all!), but I take it nevertheless.

If you feel like you are struggling you should definitely give an anti-depressant a try. Medication makes a HUGE difference for me. ((((Hugs))))
Jenny
Annie, January '04
Will, August '06
JennyK
Forum Moderator

Postby kmomto6 » Oct 19, 2005 2:06 pm

JennyK wrote:Joanna,

They are all category C. I do not suffer from depression, but I have generalized anxiety disorder, so I take SSRI's for that.

I would say avoid Paxil because it causes withdrawal in newborns. Having gone through Paxil withdrawal hell myself, I could never put a baby through that.

I have been told that the other SSRI's are easier to come off of and don't cause w/d in babies. (I'm no expert, though.)