fifth time around and very nervous

Welcome to our Forums! Whether currently battling HG, planning a future pregnancy, or just needing a place to learn and be heard, start here. Sign up for a support buddy and tell us about yourself.

Moderator: PamelaRose

fifth time around and very nervous

Postby rjdecker » Feb 15, 2005 12:03 pm

Hi, my name is Jennifer. I am five weeks pregnant and very nervous because I have had HG with my four other pregnancies and it was terrible! I haven't been very nauseated at all, yet. I am just holding my breath because it gives me about a week before it hits.

I am also a nurse and a lot of my struggles with HG related to work. It was difficult to get my employer to understand and I had limited time to take off before insurance would no longer cover me. I was on my feet all day long, running from one patient to the next and crying because it just felt so impossible to do anything. The worst was that my husband made a lot less money than I did and so, he kind of expected me to be to work. He was supportive on my days off, and then expected me to be to work. It hurt my feelings a lot because he tried to understand and yet, he just couldn't.

I also have had a number of people make rude comments to me. I was getting vistaril injections about twice a week and once I called the MD's office to make sure they were in and the medical assistant told me that I had to realize that being pregnant was miserable and that I could do it without the shot just like everyone else! I was so upset that I called my mom and she said, "Jenny, who is the nurse? Who knows your body? Call them back and tell them you will have that shot!" And you know what? That is exactly what I did! But, it still makes me feel lupset. I've had lots of other comments.